possible timing chain??

hi all.
i purchased a 2004 micra 1.0 k12 engine the other day.
cheap as idling problem!!
doing abit of research im suspecting timing chain but would like opinions.
1) idles rough and oftern cuts out.
2) has refused to pick up revs to move off (as i found out at a t-juntion in the middle of the road)
3) jumping rev counter.
4) kangarooing when thring to go a constant speed.
i have looked at the tentioner as ive seen on many advice pages and it looks to be around the 10mm mark maybe a slight bit more!
so from this would everyone be 100% confident that camchain causing this issue?
if so i may go slap the seller as he claimed chain was done 6k miles ago.
was a trade sale so cant bitch too much and it was cheap :)
on the subject of timing chains is there any how to guides floating about?
im a very competent mechanic but never delt with k12 engines before other than service ect so would be handy to know timing marks etc before i start.
thanks in advance for any advice recived.

I should mention the car has fault code p0444! Is this related?
Double checked the tentioner and seams to definitely be around 10mm were as everyone else with these problems stating 20+mm on tentioner.
Could there be a different problem? E.g cam position sensor? Crank sensor? Throttle body? That will cause the same problems? Did also read about 2nd lamba sensor??

Ok I thought I would check the timing 1st (free job)
I got the crank at TDC checked with marks on pulley and screwdriver in spark plug hole.
Anyway hopefully attached it camshaft positions at TDC. Now I can clearly see the exhaust cam is possible 1-2 teeth out however how is the inlet looking? Easier if they had proper timing marks.
Also my chain has no gold links so unable to check them.
Let me know if you think the inlet looks out or ok?
Suprised car actually runs reasonably well just idling issue!

Attachments

• 20140607_142738.jpg
    20140607_142738.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 13,581