Politics and politicians

pixieness

Ex. Club Member
I've never done this before, but it was on after "What the Ancients Did for Us" (I love Adam Hart-Davis)... I'm watching live footage from the Houses of Parliament, the Labour party and the Tories bandying back and forth.

Now I realise why I've never done it before! I'm very, VERY concerned! All they seem to do is insult each other with personal attacks, like poor choices in clothing!!! SERIOUSLY!!!!

These people are in charge of our country! No wonder they never get anything done, it's just one big slagging match! At one point the woman trying to talk (don't know which party it was for, I think she's Labour - I know nothing about politics) actually couldn't because everyone in the room was yelling, cheering, booing... like they were at a rock concert or a Norman Wisdom farce!!!!!

Does anyone have an insight as to how they actually get anything done??

they make an address ona certain issue and then just argue about it.
someone takes the stand (minister of whatever) they raise an issue, give an opinion, an oposing party gives their opinion, they then try to beat each other on volume.

to be fair politicians have allways been image concious, Tony Blair in 2005 spent £1 million on make up (tax payers money)

To be fair, you probably were watching the prime ministers questions, (Wednesday, Midday), which is just one big shouting match between the Conservatives and Labour. But in fact it really created for the media to get some storys out of Politics... which is probably a good thing at the end of the day?

They can ask whatever question they like for an hour, and generally the question asker will ask about the latest political scandal as possible or even imply something about the latest personal scandal, and then get his team to jeer at the hopeless response, while the other team cheers if the PM comes up with some clever come back.

I quite like it :wasntme: