Oxygen Sensor -Micra Auto 1.2 (53 plate)

L

LadyNissan

This morning the malfunction light came on. Duly took to Nissan garage - was advised it was the oxygen sensor (front) that was faulty. Quote given just under £300. As the car is just out of warranty (only 2 days would you believe it) and it has only done 9500 miles in the 3 years the service dept got in touch with Nissan headoffice to ask if they would the cover the cost. Apparantely they said yes - they would pay the part if I paid for the labour. I agreed to this. Although of course not happy I thought I could write letter to Nissan headoffice afterwards. I paid £105.00 for labour (including VAT).

My question.... yes ok strictly speaking outside of warranty but should an oxygen sensor (what ever that is exactly) go faulty after only 9500 miles - I'm thinking no but then I'm not a mechanic and know nothing about cars! I do appreciate that Nissan paid for the part but do you think its worth writing to Nissan to ask them to help pay towards the labour purely on the grounds that it went faulty after such low mileage?? Back at work I was asked if I do short journeys. Yes I do. To work one way it is only 6-8 miles and my circle of friends live nearby. Doesn't state in the handbook to avoid oxygen sensors going faulty need to do long journeys every so often if your average mileage is not that much. Therefore how much is often and for how long, ie every couple of weeks need to do a 50 mile journey?!?

Going back to my original question, in mileage terms roughly how long should one of these sensors last for but also am I being unreasonable hoping that Nissan headoffice will stump up more money to pay for the labour.