New member with fuel pump issue

Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie here, with a 1999 Nissan Micra K11.

I have owned the car for 6 year and never had a single problem until last night.

Whilst driving home from work on the A4 from Heathrow, I went through a small puddle which I couldn't aviod, and within a few seconds my car cut out. After a 3 hour wait for recovery, I was informed by the technician that he suspected the fuel pump had gone. He also told me it would proabably cost in the region of £200 to fix.

Is this a common things with the K11 Micra? I feel it's more of an electrical fault, due to the car going through a puddle.
Is there any advice anyone could give me? I don't mind spending the £200 but I'm not sure it's worth fixing due to the age etc.

Many thanks in advance.

Sonny

OP
OP
Sonny83
Hi Guys,

Thank you for your answers.

The car simply isn't starting when I turn the key, however, there is a very strong smell of petrol.

I am going on the advice of the recovery guys that the fuel pump has gone. I have no idea how to change one but will ask around for some help.

Thanks again

I would be disconnecting the fuel line where it attaches to the injector rail and pointing it into a bucket while someone turns the engine over to see if fuel pumps out. If not, then reconnect the fuel line, get in the car pull up the rear seat bench, undo the three screws to remove the inspection cover, and get your assistant to turn the engine over again while you listen for the fuel pump spinning. If no sound, pull the connectors off, spray with wd40 connect/unplug them a few times and try agin to start the car. If still nothing ( and assuming fuel pump fuse and relay are good ) you may need to replace the pump, a fairly simple job.