Micra/March problem

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here looking for some pretty basic information.

I live in Uganda and have been lent an MA10S circa 1991 Micra. It's badged as a Nissan March so I'm assuming it's a Japanese market vehicle personally imported here (most Toyotas, Nissans etc are ex-Japan cars).

One of the dashboard warning lights refuses to go out. I've no idea if it's got a standard (UK) dash layout but it's in the middle row to the left of the brake warning light, directly above the oil warning light and directly below the rear screen heater light. Any idea what this is for? I've check all the obvious levels etc and can't find a problem. I can email a photo of the dash if it's a weird one....

Not sure if it makes any difference but the car has power steering and air con (tragically not working at the moment).

Btw, can anyone give me a rough idea of the mpg? Fuel's not cheap over here so I want to make sure I can afford to run it!

Thanks,

Rich

joesouthgate

Super Moderator
Club Member
well if power steering and aircon arent working then i would asume it was a warning light for one of those?

Just the aircon that's not working, the power steering is fine.

The aircon switch has been disconnected as the bearing was getting noisy (this happened before we got the car) but I'm not sure there's a warning light for low coolant or something.

The light will sometimes go off for no apparent reason and then come back on again after a few minutes. The car seems to run ok so I'm not too bothered about it but it would be nice to know if it's about to explode!

solarice

Ex. Club Member
if its intermittant, its possible it could just be bad connection somewhere...maybe just a short or somthing thats causing the light to light up.

Just had a quick look at my old K10 haynes manual, and the only thing that is in that area is the fog light warning light...if your dash on the left hand side is made up of 6 warning symbols.

James

Chairman