MA09 Engine + Gearbox dimensions

Snikty

Site Supporter
Does someone know em?

Wiki says, Size (length × width × height): 705×575×680 mm, but I'm a noob so don't know what exactly that accounts for. Is that just the main block or is that including s/c, turbo, i/c, fueling and ecu?

I'm trying to get an idea of what else I could put an MA09 into and some of my choices will possibly be a tight fit so would like to know exactly how much space I need.

cheers

You're keen! you mean you want to try and get parts for two cars with that powerplant?

(you didn't smash your ST did you?!?! :D )

Haha no didnt wreck it.

But I have a second engine coming and in a couple of years one of them will be completely reconditioned with nothing to power, so I want to decide on what I think would suit it now so if I see a cheapy that has blown an engine but has a straight body I can grab it...yeah I know I'm mental. I was hoping for a mighty boy but I dont like my chances of having it fit lol Next choice was datsun fairlady but you dont find them cheap anymore.

Well what you can say is the MA09 engine is about as small as they get, so if that doesnt fit nothing will!

you can get a daihatsu turbo 3cyl into a mightyboy with room to spare

a mini would be another good option

Well the daihatsu is is not much smaller than the MA09. I have worked on alot of them too (gtti). MA09 is sooo MUCHHHHHH better!!

Most of the mighty boy conversions are to an F8B (800cc) with a daihatsu turbo upgrade from what I've seeen. They are a pretty tiny engine bay though I think it would be a very tight fit due to all the bits and bobs on the ma09.