K10 for first car, good choice?

J

JTunerTim

I think so! :D

lol but seriousely, i have no car knowledge at the moment, but i will soon (this starting school year) as im training to be a mechanic, im going to take a 2 year diploma at a college called sparsholts if anyone is familiar with that?
Anyway, my main question is im hopefully starting to drive this winter, ive practiced quite abit on private land etc im pretty confident about it so hopefully il get my license,
ANYWAY... lol, what do you guys think of a 1.0l K10 for my first car, what stuff usually goes wrong on them and whats there to look out for? I wont be doing any mods or anything on it at first, and maybe not for a while but obviousely il get a nice sound setup in there but not a huge annoying bass thumping chav style one (no offence to anyone to has these, im just using it so people no where im coming from).
So any help from you guys would be great. Ive seen a couple of the Micras on this site and they look bloody superb, great job!

hey, like the sound of you already.

Erm K10's are fantastic(ly bad) cars and would be superb (probably not) first car. I love them and I'm on my 5th/6th or so. They are fairly simple but should allow you to learn the basics of mechanics (not electronic technical stuff modern cars are all about), they tend to either have strong or weak engines, they don't often last more than 60-100K miles if they've been driven hard, 1litres are more robust than the 1.2's apparently. The bodies are usually sound or if not looked after suffer from rust in all the usual places (arches, sills, bulkhead top, door bottoms and window edges). If you drop on a lowish milage one your onto a winner, high-milage ones tend to be a bit wobbly, it's worth renewing suspension bits, get the engine serviced (if it's burning much oil your piston rings will want doing not that many people bother, they just replace the car/engine)....