K10 Auto choke, what / how to check/test ?

P

penny11

Hello, I am new to the MSC, so please be gentle with me .... :)

I have a J Plate K10 that is becoming increasingly difficult to start when cold or damp..... It 'seems' to be the automatic choke, but I do not know how to diagnose the problem? :-(

Can someone tell me how to check to see if the auto choke is doing what it is supposed to do, and what to look for, or expect to see, please?

I have looked at the Haynes, but it is not clear (literally) what happenes when the car is started when cold, or what to check.....

Regards , Penny

ps I have checked the auto choke relay, OK, and Searched this forum already.....:)

has the season setting been changed? as this might be wots wrong if its been cold where u are it should be set for winter or whatever it is. there is a thread around somewhere about it

auto choke problems

Thanks, the winter/summer setting is on the 'snorkel' of the air filter, it is a flap that pulls air in from around the exhaust manifold or 'fresh' air...however this is not the problem..... Does anyone know what the choke actually 'does' when it is operating, or how to test it's action .....?

Thanks again

Winter/summer will make no difference as the air is cold regardless of setting when you start the car

Starting problems could be the autochoke doesnt engage on the carb, or your HT leads are old/rubbish and need replacing! Take the air filter off and have a butchers inside the carb, to see if the autochoke is open/closed or functioning correctly.

Obviously, it could be a number of other reasons, but ive had two starting problems with my car and the above were the problems.

mine is on its way too...

leave the car to get cold (first thing in the morning is best) and don't touch the accellorator peddle.

Don't start the engine

carefully remove the air filter housing cover.

Look down into the carburettor venturi.
the highest flap visible is the choke flap.