Is this welder any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

peposhi

Once I win the Euromillions...
Lads, I have no knowledge to decide if this welder is good or not. It's pretty cheap though:

IE_61096wk33_01_b.jpg

http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_12567.htm

I wouldn't need it for anything heavy, only for a home use, small car projects.
It's cheap, but on the other hand, you get what you pay for :suspect:

What's your opinion?

the DC arc ones are much nicer to use peposhi, there are 2 or 3 recent threads on here

the DC arc ones are much nicer to use peposhi, there are 2 or 3 recent threads on here

That's right, Frank. But I've never used one of them and that one... I used it a few times back home years a go

in a word NO, just NO, i wouldnt touch that. theres not much on a car that that will weld, forget body panels for a start.

Parkside / Lidl items are so tricky !
It's so cheap so you want to buy them! Sometimes it's a good deal, sometimes it's so crap you don't use it and end in buying a "normal price brand" thing.It's 50/50 .
The hardest part is when you are in the store, and it's the last one left "Should I take it? Its so cheaaaaaaaaaaaaap" :laugh: Last time I hesitated on a polishing machine...17euros !!! Finally I din't fell in the Lidl "its so cheap" trap and didn't bought it.
Back at home I googled the item number and I have read a lot of angry people who scratched their paint with this! :blues:

I have the same problem with them. But in fairness I've bought fair amount of good and useful items there. And reliable too :)
As you, Seb, say - it's 50/50 there :):)

Yes, for example I've recently bought a very good set of screwdrivers+keys, very complete, rather solid, good grip, perfect for installing a bumper once in a year. or other casual work. But I've also bought a a tool to remove sparks, and it's really lame, I think it's going to end in the bin... and I'll buy a real one...