I’m replacing the rear wheel bearing & changing the brake shoes - what torque wrench do I need to buy?

I think the hub nut is 30mm?
What size torque wrench do you think that I should get?
Sorry I have never used a torque wrench before so this is new to me.
Is this the only bolt that needs to be torqued properly in this process?
For the wheels I usually just stand on the 4 way wheel wrench to tighten them. M
Is this bad?

Im thinking this one might be suitable?
I’m not really sure though.

Also can I use an adapter on it if the socket I have is too large to attach?

Sorry everyone I know I’m a pain in the ass lol
Really appreciate the help :)

Last edited:
Hey, torque wrenches come in terms of the range of torques they can provide and the unit is usually either foot pounds (ft lb) or newton meters (nm)

The one that you've linked can provide anywhere from 28 to 210nm, and so if the torque required on the hub is between those values it will work. You can find the torque for any bolt or fastner in the haynes manual for your car or online. The 1/2" referred to in the title is the drive size of the adapter on the end. confusing that they mix metric and imperial units but that's the UK for you lol

What that bit means is that any socket you use for it has to have a half inch square hole in the back of it. So if you needed a 30mm socket, you'd buy 30mm hex (the same pattern as the hub) on one side and a 1/2 inch square drive on the back. When I bought my torque wrench it did come with an adapter to change 1/2 inch to 1/4 inch if I remember correctly. It also came with an extender bar.

ZpQqNHd.jpg

Essentially it's the same square on both ends and allows you to use the torque wrench without hitting and scratching your wheel arches.