How to: Change fuel pump???

Simaroon

Buy & Sell Member
hello, a few of you may have seen in my other thread that having a bit of trouble with the micra.
ive now got a new fuel pump to go in, im no mechanic but willing to have a go, i have searched on here but with not much luck for a removal/fitting guide.

could anyone explain how to do this. i know its under the rear bench, i have taken the case off and disconnected the two connectors. what next?

thanks

hello, a few of you may have seen in my other thread that having a bit of trouble with the micra.
ive now got a new fuel pump to go in, im no mechanic but willing to have a go, i have searched on here but with not much luck for a removal/fitting guide.

could anyone explain how to do this. i know its under the rear bench, i have taken the case off and disconnected the two connectors. what next?

thanks

I've not done one on a Micra but I'm guessing they're much like any other electric pump
Remove fuel pump fuse/battery negative if your health and safety conscience (not necessary just don't turn on the ignition and you shoul be fine)
Pull up the seats
You'll be greeted by a big round circle cover remove that usually 10mm bolts under that will be the tank
Remove pipes and plugs
Usually the whole plastic thing needs removing and has little ledges that you need to hit with a blunt object to get the whole unit to spin in an anticlockwise manner, after a few turns it should spin off by hand
Once off unscrew it from it's cradle remove all bits that need to go on new pump refit the new pump reassemble

k11 plastic enclosure for the fuel pump has a clip towards the front,push down and slide unit backwards then out of tank

you've unscrew'd the top cover off the tank? and removed the 2 fuel lines?

yes, so far i have.

removed top cover
removed 2 plastic electric connectors and 2 fuel lines
undone the black pastic collar so can now remove the lid of tank.