Help, Engine Check Light Flashing! Car starts for 5secs then dies

mickey&me

Site Supporter
Hi all

Im fed up with my second micra, My stupid little SR wont work properly. I have 2 major problems with it and here they are:

(1) Well the car starts then dies after 6 secs!!!! The engine check light keeps on flashing continuasly (Sorry about the spelling). This just happened because i was checking the fuses because the back lights wouldnt work. I did some research on "engine Fault codes" on this website and tried to bridge the connections to find out the fault code BUT NOTHING. This car is my secondary and want to get it fixed so i can sell it off! I havent called the RAC or bothered to call a mechanic because the last time this happened my mechanic charge me £40 to change an engine temp sensor! Im new to this electrical stuff and im well steamed up about it!!!!! Hope some one can help!

(2) My second problem is that where the boot hinges are, the wiring there were cut (yes all of them, have no idea how) Because of this the rear wiper and lights wouldnt work. I connected them back and still dont work! Have no idea what the ****:mad: is wrong!

Btw this car is a 1996 1.3 SR with Nats key fob

I really need some help but im so strapped for cash i cant even do anything!

hope anyone can help
Thanks in advance all

happened to me turned out the nats system had kicked in towed car to nissan dealers who lightened my wallet by 97 quid to re code key.......if its the nats 1 system it can be disabled according to other sites....

dont know how to disable the nats. all i know is by reading other threads in other sites that the nats 1 system is easy to bypass more so than the nats 2 system....for nats 1 on a primera i found this.......
Find and remove the NATS immu, behind glove box.
disconnect and link the following wires.
1&2
5&6
7&8

3&4 leave off.
you should now have disconnected your nissan antitheft.