Having a few issues...

So as some of you know I'm new to the world of Micra. I picked up a K11 for really cheap that had a fair bit of cosmetic damage but seemed to run well.

So i fitted new alloys and tyres, new door handles and did some repairs to the paintwork and pulled out the bumper where the previous owner has a little parking incident.

The car has been a joy to drive and it's gone from a runaround till i can upgrade, to the love of my life. I honestly wouldn't upgrade for love nor money infact when I do I plan to keep this little beauty and is so much fun to drive. Anyway enough of the sweet talking (anyone would think my car could hear me!)

But... (isn't there always a but!) lately I've been having some problems. It starts every time on the button (see I've been picking up the lingo off you lot) (Y) But when I stop at a junction or at lights sometimes it cuts out. Like totally dies, but as soon as I switch off the ignition it starts first time?! This is causing me a lot of drama especially in rush hour traffic, I've found I can stop it cutting out by keeping it revved even when stationary. But this is obviously not a soloution.

My friend who lives local took a look at the car and scraped the terminals on my distributor cap and it seemed to fix it for a few days but he did say the cap terminals were really worn. So i've bought a new cap and am trying to fit it...I got the old cap screws out but cant get the cap out of position as there is not enough room to maneuver it out as space is limited. Any tips on how to get it out?

Also from reading what I've said do you lot think my problem is purely with the dizzy cap? Or might it be something more ?

Thanks for reading

MQ.

it sounds like an idle control problem to me MQ, the i/cv valve may be sticking and may need cleaning (its the one on the front of the throttlebody :grinning:)
or you could just increase the idle speed a bit