Hard to start and smoking.

Got in the Micra to drive to work this morning and it took ages to start, when it did it was bellowing smoke (oil i think) out of the exhaust and running very lumpy (possibly only on 3 cyl). Turned it off went back in and asked the wife who driove it last if she has a problem, to which she replied that she found it hard to start and it wasnt running right.

My guess (i'm no mechanic) is dizzy cap, rotor arm or HT leads?

Seemed fine when I drove myself yesterday back from work.

Dont have the car with me now as i took the Maverick in the end, but wife needs it later and I have told her to take the dizzy cap of and clean it inside.

i had the same symtoms with a vauxhall corsa. does it only bello smoke out on start up? mine was the headgasket. check the oil cap for mayonaise type stuff. could be wrong but thats what mine was lol

OP
OP
M
Had a closer look as i am on half day, sarted her again and the smell was petrol so i guess she was a little flooded. Oil was fine nice and clean and clear with no milky stuff, water was nice and clear also.

Only thing i did notice was pressure in the head, when i took off the oil cap off with the engine running it was spitting oil at me. Now, I have has this before, albeit with a renault clio and it turned out to be the water pump propellor broken so water was not circulation properly. did not really see too much movement in the water this time either.

how does the diagnostis sound tou the experts?

wife called she said the car seems to run ok on the flats but struggles up hills and is drinking fuel. any ideas? Still really hard to start

butta

Kicked in the Member
nah the timing chain is under the oil cap so if you take it off with the engine running oil goes all over the place

OP
OP
M
Ok so oil normally spits out of the oil cap on micra's?
Im pretty confident its not a HG as no bubbles in the cooling system when on fast idle and as stated above oil and water look fine.