Fueling Problem - Urgent Help Please!!

Hi, I am new to Micra's but not to cars.

I have got an 87 D 1.0 GLS Auto for the missus and soon after buying it, it started behaving like it was starved of fuel.

I noticed that a hole has formed in the filler pipe and that there is bits of rusty metal in the fuel filter. I've changed the fuel filler down pipe for one from the scrappy (and I got a new fuel tank sender too as my fuel gauge wasn't working)

I've changed the fuel filter [which to my suprise (not) became full of crap again in a matter of minutes] but it's still as bad.

Someone has suggested I need to drain the tank and use an air compressor to blow down from the engine bay back into the fuel tank to clean it of any crap, then remove and clean out the fuel tank.

Could there be something blocking the carb? What's best to do about it?

I've not had a carb to deal with since I started driving many years ago and then I left the garage to deal with things. Now I like to have a go myself.

Micra 110

Site Supporter
Could there be something blocking the carb? What's best to do about it?

Buy another Filter to start with! lol!
No smoking....
Disconnect the Battery...

What your friend has suggested is a good idea......if you can get the Tank off, give it a good swill out but don't wait too long putting it back on otherwise it'll start rusting on the inside....

As for the Carburetor (remove the 4 X 10mm Bolts from underneath and associated Rubber/Plastic piping) The carb should be easy to clean.....use an airline, not too close tho' and blow all the dust and crud off the outside. Strip the Carb down and place parts in some clean Petrol, then blow out all the debris from inside of the Carb.....then flush with clean petrol

This company supplys Carburetor kits for the K10 http://fpuk.co.uk/products/Catalogues/carb/carbkits.pdf