first big service - advice

Hey. Following buying my first micra a few weeks ago, i'm planning on doing its first service this weekend. Because i'm new to micra's, i'm after your experience and advice. So far i have these parts:

• Mikayo Air Filter
  • Mikayo Fuel Filter
  • Mikayo Oil Filter + Genuine Nissan Sump Plug Washer
  • Castrol Magnatec Engine Oil 10W-40 (i bought this in bulk for my other car, so might as well)
  • 4 x Denso Spark Plugs - K16PR-U11
  • Gearbox Oil - Carlube 75W90 GL5 (4.5 Litre)

Are there anymore parts i need to do these jobs, or anything else i should be doing at the same time? I'm using my Haynes Book of Lies as a guide to follow, anyone got any useful tips?

Cheers,
Ross

Apart from changing the rearbox oil( I never did this before) the other things a realy straight forward...it will take you about 2 hours.
good luck this weekend with the service and welcome to the club...(Y)(Y):laugh::laugh::p

Cheers for the tip ... i'll keep that in mind.

First job done! I changed the gearbox oil today without hitch, so thats the first box ticked. The old gearbox oil was disgustingly black, so it was a good call! The gear stick is still quite stiff to move left to right though. Any idea why that is or how to fix it?

Thats the fuel filter changed and so another job off the list ... 10 minute job if that! Two tools, phillips screw driver and 10mm socket! really enjoying the ease of working on the Micra! (Y)

Started to look at the universal joint on the gearbox as well, but the heavens opened so had to just coat it in WD40 and leave it at that for now. :( Has anyone done this before and can offer me advice/tips? Does this forum have a hidden "How-To" section i can't find?

frank

Club Member
paul (pollyp) covered the sticking rodchange in his blog iirc ross, and paidup members only, get access to the guides

cheers frank.