Engine Check Light (HELP!!)

N

NovaVan

Hi peeps, newbie here!! :p

I am a Vauxhall boy through and through. But......... I have a lot of love for the Micra as my best friend owns a K11 1.0i on a P reg. This will explain why I'm here on your forums today requesting your help people........

Yesterday I followed my friend out to his workshop where we did a few bits and pieces and then decided to shoot off to the auctions. Jumping into his Micra he turned the key to ignition and the engine check light started flashing quite quickly. He tried to start it and it started but only runs for 5 seconds and then cuts out. If you try to start it as soon as it cuts out then it will not start but if you leave it for a few minutes and try to start it then it will start but only for 5 seconds. We have checked the injectors, fuel pump, spark etc etc and they all seem to be doing their job.

Obviously you guys have a hell of a lot more Micra experience than me but are the Micra's equipped with a "safe mode" which the ECU engages if it feels there is a problem??

We've gone from front to back and everything is fine. If it is in "Safe mode" is there anyway of tricking it out of it??

My friend seems a bit upset about it all and has even talked about scrapping it but I pursaded him into letting me try a few forums etc first.

The car is a Nissan Micra K11 1997 P-reg 140000 miles 1.0i 16v

Many Thanks guys and girls :k11yellow:

Did you know that if you have a blown fuse it could cause a "check engine" or "service engine soon" light to come on? Advanced technology in vehicles monitor several different systems, an electric air pump fuse failure will cause a "check engine" light to appear, simply replace the fuse and the computer "check engine" will reset in 3 engine run cycles.

Just read that online mate, worth a try

Hope it helps

Daz

Many thanks for that buddy. Where was that information found??