Clutch cable problems

Hi guys, first off I'm a relative newbie to this site although I have been reading through the many great posts on here for a while.

Now to my problem, I have had a new clutch fitted to my little 03 plate tempest as the previous one was shot. The problem is with the cable the wheel nut on the cable is tightened all the way towards the windscreen of the car and the biting point of the clutch is nearly on the floor. With the old clutch the cable but was wound a fair way back towards the radiator of the car. Coupled with this there is quite a bit of free play on the pedal if the clutch before I can feel the resistance on the clutch itself.

I'm inclined to think that the cable has stretched but wouldn't mind the opinion of others on here. If I wind the nut on the cable back towards the radiator the clutch pedal hits the floor without any effort and doesn't return without the use of my hand.

Apologies for the long winded post but as I say I'd appreciate any opinions or advice.

I can't really remember how the clutch arm looks. But if it has an arm attached to the axle/spindle that goes into the gearbox (know what I mean?), the arm could maybe have been placed in the wrong position, when the clutch was changed? I don't know if it's even possible, but that would surely make the distance from the outer position of the arm to the cable stop too short, thus causing this problem.

Maybe you can just loosen the arm, reposition it, and fit the cable back on?

Sorry, haven't got my car near me. Otherwise I'd have taken a proper look.

Cheers,

Ulrich