cams, flywheel and manifold

euro_micra

Matt :)
I'm looking at improving the power in my 1.0, I've already got 1.3 cams a ga16 airbox with k&n filter and I've removed the rev limiter which is a nice little combination for unlocking some power in the 1 litres, but I need some more. I'd like to do a 1.3 conversion but most mechanically challenged thing I've done is change cams, so I'll play safe and stick with bolt-ons for now -which would be good as they'll still be useable when I get around to fitting a 1.3.

I've done a lot of reading on here and it seems like some reprofiled cams would give me the best bang for me buck, but with it being a daily driver I'd still like to keep some low to mid power too, which is where the mani should come in useful. Teamed up with a lightweight f/w it should create a nice little high/quick-revving little package.

But I need advice on where I should go for parts. What weight f/w is best for fast road use? What cams would suit me and the car, and what information I need to know to get them reprofiled? I'm also thinking of just reprofiling the inlet cam -keeps cost down, and the 1.3 exhaust cam on the 1.0 should already be adequate enough?

And Frank, and others, if you want to make any parts: mani, lightweight flywheel, and make some money, I'd be more than happy to have yours installed in my car.

So quite a few things being asked but I just want to make the most of what I've got :grinning:
5332448987_34a8ef90b3.jpg

martinb

Ex. Club Member
I had a lightened 1.0 flywheel on mine, it weighed 4kg, what a difference!! So much more responsive and was like a motorbike!!

Too light and it's a pain to drive from what I've read

That was a stock one ground down to 4kg, any lighter it has to be drilled, I'll be getting my 1.3 one done too for my turbo setup as I was so impressed with the last one :) good luck

Instead of changing engines just get the 1.3 rods fitted to change it to a high compression 1.3 with 1.0 pistons like frank