Black Box Insurance

Just seen the confused.com "black box" insurance advert, which got me thinking

So as you do I decided to get a quote and wow it is a hell of a lot cheaper with one of these boxes, has anyone on here have or know of anyone using this scheme?

Apart from the obvious what's the pros and cons?

Any information is greatly appreciated :D

I don't know anyone that has, but am also interested in finding out more about these "black boxes"
although my insurance is not that bad if it could be cheaper because i'm a good driver instead of just...I'm a girl with 7 years NCD...would be interesting to see ^_^

ETA: http://www.confused.com/gooddrivers

i guess they,ll be compulsory within a few years :( inbuilt satnav and accelerometer will show if you,re running 5hp more than stock ! better make hay while the sun shines lol :p

OKay so i just got quotes clicking "yes" to the device question and then "no"

the only difference between the lists (16 won't provide quotes changed to 17) Nissan won't insure me if i say no, what are the odds? LOL

seems as though i have all the discount i'm gonna get *shrugs*
very handy for someone who is a new driver or has little or no NCD but i assume the extra saving is subject to a minimum premium :p (Ie: higher than the £325 I'm paying)

After reading more on it, it would be useless for me.

You get charged more between 11pm and 6am and during peak times, that would be me screwed going to work at 11pm and leaving at 8:30 (peak time)

Although it made a massive difference for having my partner on, she's had 2 accidents in 2 years. For me by myself it's not much difference

I looked into blackbox insurance back when I had my K11, just before I got it actually I think, and I tried getting a quote from a few companies that I don't remember the name of. All of them told me the K11 was too old to install a black box into.