All micra technical: 'CAM position sensor'

Dear all,

Subject:'CAM position sensor' (also refered to by some as a crank angle sensor <wierd?>...but I think this is a missleading name since the part that I'm interested in is mounted on the CAM SHAFT)...so I'm calling it a 'CAM position sensor' (sorry for terminology wars)...lol

I am a K11 / K12 rookie so forgive my ignorance but Im guessing these cars are both all ECU and maybe / hopefully electronic distribution. and even more hopefully: mechanically compatible!!

I am K10 but I'm in the middle of a feasibillity study for a project and I have the following querys.

1 Does either or both the K11 & K12 (or any other candidate) have and optical sensor on the cam shaft or 'where a distributer might normally be' (a disk with slots...not a disk with 'cogs')?

2 If so, is there a common interface so that the sensor, whole-module or even complete assembly can be fitted (ideally) or grafted (not ideally) onto a K10 MA series engine (for example at the cam shaft end, or on the end of a distributer rotor....)?

3 If so, what is the nature/details of the encoding rotor (pictures & description would be fab).

4 One more; if all are still a 'yes';.... is the encoding disc replaceable/ removable in order to fit up a custom encoder?

cheers all

here's a couple of pictures of the sort of thing that I'm rattling on about from other nissans for reference that I ripped from elsewhere

Rich

Attachments

• cam2.JPG
    cam2.JPG
    42 KB · Views: 860
  • cam.JPG
    cam.JPG
    38.3 KB · Views: 3,102
sammohung

ed,s your man on the opto/electric info, but the non coilpack cg,s use a cam sensor in the dizzy, and the coilpack,s use a crank sensor, and the k12,s use both (the cam sensor signals the vari-valve inlet cam).
i would think you could rig up a k10/k11 hybrid ignition system

sammohung

they,re usually centrifugal bob weights and springs, plus vacuum advance, why do you want to disable it, btw ?

sammohung