2nd day of owning a 2003 micra, and Malfunction light on.

Hello all, I've just put all my little savings into buying a nissan micra 2003 5 door S. cost 2700.
I bought it from a small dealer, who has given me 3 months warranty. When I bought it it was showing the malfunction light on, but he said its because the battery went dead, it just needs to be reprogrammed?!?

Im a new driver, so new to cars etc... so trusted his word. whether that is right or not I still don't no.

When I picked up the car, the malfunction light was not on, and it drove very smoothly without any engine noise, or rattling.

2 days later, I tried starting the car to get to work, and it wouldnt start until the 3rd try. each time the battery light would come on, as well as the engine/malfunction light. I managed to start it and it drove well after warming up.

Before it gets warmed up, the car sort of thudders, just for a few minutes until its warm, sounds like a heart beat. very quiet though.
is this usual?

The rev counter on idle also wiggles. But no sounds from the engine, actually I dont hear it when I stop for traffic lights, I sometimes think Ive stalled because its so quiet. Cars Ive usually sat in, I hear the engine all the time.

I've taken it back to the dealer who said they will fix the problem, Ive phoned them a few times today and they said its something to do with the sensors. But which sensor I dont no until tomorrow.
I've read all the horror stories once the malfunction light comes on, Im worried it may be the timing chain? or will lead to that once the sensors are changed...

Anyone have any advice?
Ive told the dealer, that if the malfunction light comes back on again, I will request a refund.

the car has full service history, no accidents, only done 44k