1.3 Gearbox swap into 1.4 sport K11

Hi guys, I'm new to the Micra world and this is my first post.

Boring introduction:
I first bought a 1.3GX Micra to be a cheap runaround while my Celica was off road getting it's engine rebuilt and because my E55 is too fancy to drive everywhere all the time. The MOT is up this week though and the clutch was on it's last legs so I decided to buy a replacement on Saturday just gone and I actually love it! It's a very tidy example of the 1.4 Sport model. Now, although I bought it for economy, it's definitely qualified for better than 'runaround' status, so I'm going to make a few light tweaks to it so that I can enjoy some country road blasting in it. It's got a very capable chassis for a small thing and with some light suspension mods it'll be good fun while not costing me the earth!

Thread:
Right, my one snag that I have with the 1.4 Micra is that the gearing is way too long. Especially when compared with my 1.3 GX, it just doesn't feel as zippy. My 1.4 is a facelift x reg (2000 model year) and before I send my 1.3 Micra to the scrapyard, I'd like to know if somebody can tell me whether or not the gearbox from the 1.3 will fit the 1.4 engine and if the transplant has been done before successfully? My 1.3 Micra is a 1997 P reg 2 door.

Thanks in advance for any help.

frank

Club Member
Interesting...tell me more please, sir?

I still don't like it though. I'd prefer much tighter gearing tbh.
the yard i use buys most of their crashed coilpack micra,s just for the g/box, then ships it to germany, to replace the chocolate N16 1.5 almera g/boxes i believe.
a coilpack 1.0 box will have a lower diff eh :)

oh right, thanks for the knowledge. I thought the gearbox actually had some substance...dunno, like tougher cogs or witchcraft.