1.0l losing power randomly.

Hey all i'm a newb scum go easy.

My girlfriend has a k11, 1.0, 93k on it now, t reg 99. It's having a few probs and im looking for ideas.

It is losing power at random times, more so now. Has been happening for last month or so. In 5th gear going about 50-70 ish. She says it will just drop in power driving on flat road. She changes down to 4th and it will be ok. But now she is changing down and it is still losing power she goes to 3rd to keep it going. The faults used to happen after driving 30+ mins or so, but now its happening much quicker.
After it has problems she says she smells a "burning tyre" type of smell at times once its stopped and engine off.

I have driven it myself(though not lately) and i noticed no probs like this.
Though the gearbox to me feels bloody awful 3rd is hell to get it into. The whole gear box feels like moving the stick through sand. Its really hard to get it into the right gear.

I'm thinking maybe the gear box is dying and this is the cause?, MAF sensor?, Lambda sensor perhaps?.
Any ideas or experiences with this type of thing would really help. It's a solid wee car and she loves it. It would be top brownie points if i can fix it fwn

Thanks, Dee

Bash1989

Ex. Club Member
To be honest the 1.0 is a bit gutless lol could be problems with the brakes binding or sparkplugs im not totally sure

Cheers fellas, Brakes seem cool as well as plugs, checked them lately. Clutch is a fair point. It seems to pull on hills as good as it can and no sign of slippage. Any tests i can do to rule it out?

Same with maf. Is there any way to test if it's that?. I have an Impreza turbo classic, Im used to ####ing about with them groan.

frank

Club Member
dee, the clutch would slip on hills only, surely ?
haynes quotes .5v between terminals 2 and 3 (engine stopped, ignition on), and 2v between terminals 2 and 3 (engine idling) for the maf