questions about replacing headgasket on 86 nissan micra

hey everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I was just given a 86 nissan micra which has a blown headgasket and im looking for step by step instructions on how to replace the headgasket.

i have been working on cars for a few years now but this will be the first time I have taken apart an engine.

so far I have drained the coolant and oil, removed the valve cover, air filter and exhaust manifold. I know I still have to remove the intake.

but after that im kinda stuck as I want to do this right the first time It would be great if someone could point me in the direction on some instructions.

thanks

Hi

headgaskets on the K10 micra engines are very simple, a haynes manual from halfords will tell you in detail how to do it, but basically

remove the intake
put a crate or big block of wood under the sump and remove the engine mount by the cam belt (small fingers needed)
remove the plastic cam belt cover
slacken the cam tensioner
take the cam belt off the cam wheel or off all together is better
remove the cam rockers with the three pins under the valve cover
remove the gear that you see at the back of the cam on the right with the two pins (there is a head bolt under this)
remove all the head bolts (i did this working from the outside ones inwards but i dont know if i matters (?)
quick tap with a nylon mallet and the head should come right off.

hope that helps ;)

the problem is im in Canada and for some reason haynes doesnt make a manaul over here and it will take a couple weeks to ship one..

does anyknow know if there is somewhere i can get a pdf file or something along those lines?

would u be able to give me specific instructions on put everything back together?

thanks

awesome that helps so much thank you.

I just have a couple questions:

do i need to remove the vibration damper? i cant seem to remove the lower cover because the bolt gets stuck on the damper