In car neons

Good morning one and all.

I'm brand new to micra.org.uk and i have a question for your brilliant minds to awnser for me!

I am currently in the process of installing a neon light kit in my car.

Currently i am having to use a seperate battery to power them. Which is expensive to say the least, since i have to keep replacing it.

I guess i would like to hook the cables up to the cigarette lighter power feed, as all of my current cabling leads to that point.

I have taken out the center console, and am leaft with the radio and assorted other goodies.

When i look at the cigarette lighter socket it has the following config:

1 large cable consealing 3 wires (the 3 wires are bound together in black electrical tape.

1 red wire: Connects to the "back" of the cigarette lighter unit
1 black wire (i think): connects again to the back of the cigarette lighter
1 yellow wire: Connects to the left hand side of the cigarette lighter

I have a vauge aptitude for electronics, but not exactly degree level.

So basicly.

I would like to know which cables that i should use to connect up my neon kit. (I don't have to use the cigarette lighter power, if there is an easier alternative then i am happy to try it)

Can anyone offer any suggestions on how to acomplish this?

Should i simply cut the red wire, solder on my posative to it then cut the yellow wire (on the side of the unit) and solder my negative onto it?

I hope i have given enough details and i have posted this in the right place!

Many thanks in advance!

Thomas Gray

Internal Neons Fitting

Dear Thomas,